Skip to content

The Academy Awards 2011

February 28, 2011

As far as hair and fashion goes, this award show was so much better than The Golden Globes and The Grammys! There were so many noteworthy dresses, hairstyles, and makeup looks I can’t even begin to name them all. I’m going to attempt to condense my best dressed list.

Here are some gorgeous red carpet and after party looks that got my attention…

Camila Alves – I love symmetry and simplicity on her. You can see how naturally beautiful she is! That guy on her arm looks decent too…

Celine Dion – She also kept things simple. No backward tuxedo dress this time! Atta girl Celine.

Natalie Portman – I’m digging the half-back hairstyle, earrings, and the color of her dress.

Michelle Williams – I pray she keeps her hair short like this for a long, long time. I don’t think I’ll ever get sick of it! Even though this beaded dress is very mature and elegant, her hair/makeup keep the overall look young and fresh. Love.

Anne Hathaway – She had a few other beautiful dresses and hairstyles throughout the show, but this look (on her way to the after party) was my favorite. I like her more “playful”, textured hair as opposed to the perfect waves she wore previously in the night.

Now these looks, I’m not so sure about…

Cate Blanchett – It was a great decision to go for a shorter cut. I like that part of this look. There’s no doubt that this gown is a work of art. I like the colors. I love the beaded details. The futuristic shoulder, however, keeps this look from being one I love.

Reese Witherspoon – I expect so much more from her, and that’s why this look disappoints me. I feel like this dress has been done before, circa 1999. You know that kiosk at the mall that sells (obviously) synthetic clip-on ponytails and the girls who work there hate life because they have to wear them? I can’t get that image out of my head.

…Let’s wrap things up with more looks I loved from last night. If I had to pick a favorite between these two lovely ladies…I cant! Can you?

Scarlett Johansson – Look at that hair. I’m drooling. I feel like such a dude right now.

Mila Kunis – This lavender dress is amaaaazing. I can’t get over it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

